Art / Inspiration Boards

Inspiration Board #1

My inspiration board for january 🙂 Or, this might be my overall inspiration board, with a few exceptions.

From left to right:

Mumford & Sons “Sigh No More”: My alltime favourite album. I’ve had it for two years now, and I’m desperately waiting for a new album. I would love to see them i concert, their music is the ultimate story-telling. Beautiful, rustic and entrancing. Simplistic and yet a cornucopia of sound and emotion.

Christel drawings: A Danish illustrator who was very active in the 40’s, 50’s, 6os’… I didn’t know the pseudonym of the artist until some of my (fairly older) colleagues told me, that some of my works reminded them of ‘Christel girls’. Some time after that, I actually discovered, that I have one of the books she illustrated (the first Christel picture), and I’ve had it for years. I think it used to be my mother’s. Funny, that.

Coloured pencils gallore: My pencils are an all-time source of inspiration. Colours inspire me.

Alphonse Mucha: His Art Nouveau ladies are simply stunning. His ‘Seasons’ are amongst my favourites, and there are multiple versions.

Birds: Actually most birds, but often those I consider aesthetically beautiful. Small birds are also favourites of mine, they remind me of my grandmother.

P. S. Krøyer: And the other Danish painters who, like the French impressionists, painted to experience the many effects of light.

Gustav Klimt: His use of colour baffles me to no end. (And yes, I adore Art Nouveau)

Salvador DalĂ­: An artist, that I cannot seem to get enough of. I’ve been to an exhibition, and even after seeing 400 sketches, I want to discover more. I don’t consider his work to be the reason why I sometimes do surrealistic drawings – but maybe it is, in some unknown, dream-like state of mind.

Leave a Reply

